NASA - National Aeronautics and Space Administration
Follow this link to skip to the main content
+ Visit
+ Contact NASA

+ Home
Aviation Systems
Search Aviation Systems

2017 NASA Honor Awards

The honorees received their awards at a special ceremony on June 27, 2017 at Ames Research Center, presented by Dr. Eugene Tu, Ames Center Director, and Ms. Lynette Forsman, Ames Incentive Awards Program Manager.

Shivanjli Sharma received an Early Career Achievement Medal for significant contributions to high-profile air traffic management technology transfer and the development of the Aeronautics Autonomy Roadmap.

Miwa Hayashi accepts her award at the NASA Honor Awards ceremony.
Miwa Hayashi received an Exceptional Achievement Medal for outstanding achievement in designing and developing the Ramp Traffic Controller display enhancing airport surface traffic operational efficiency and controller awareness.

Marcus A. Johnson received an Exceptional Achievement Medal for exceptional achievement as Flight Test Director for the TLC-2 Demonstration in development of the UAS Traffic Management system enabing drone operations in low altitude.

Joseph Rios accepts his award at the NASA Honor Awards ceremony.
Joseph L. Rios received an Exceptional Achievement Medal for demonstrating exceptional global leadership to safely enable large-scale small unmanned aircraft system in low-altitude airspace.

Joey Rios accepts the award at the NASA Honor Awards ceremony on behalf of Michelle Eshow.
Michelle Eshow received an Exceptional Engineering Achievement Medal for inventing and leading the development of the “Sherlock” data warehouse system for high-integrity data analysis supporting NASA's air traffic management research efforts. (Joseph Rios accepted the award on her behalf.)

Boris Rabin accepts his award at the NASA Honor Awards ceremony.
Boris M. Rabin received an Exceptional Service Medal for exceptional contributions leading the development and design of simulation visual databases and compelling graphics in support of NASA research and Ames Research Center.

Jeffrey Homola accepts the group award on behalf of the UTM Team at the NASA Honor Awards ceremony.
The UAS Traffic Management (UTM) Team received a group achievement award for exemplary performance in demonstrating a low-altitude UAS aviation system by conducting first-of-their-kind field tests of a novel UAS Traffic Management platform.

The team included representatives from NASA Ames Research Center (Frank Aguilera, Arwa Aweiss, Jeffrey Bowles, Guillaume Brat, William Chan, Brandon Cook, Quang Dao, Sarah D'souza, Joseph Garcia, Jeffrey Homola, Corey Ippolito, Marcus Johnson, Jaewoo Jung, Parimal Kopardekar, Kalmanje Krishnakumar, Joey Mercer, Daniel Mulfinger, Thomas Prevot, Joseph Rios, Kevin Witzberger, Min Xue), NASA Glenn Research Center (Paul Nelson), NASA Langley Research Center (Ersin Ancel, Christine Belcastro, Neil Coffee, Maria Consiglio, Evan Dill, Chester Dolph, John Foster, Louis Glaab, Sharon Graves, Mike Logan, Andrew Moore, Cesar Munoz, Richard Ross, Steven Young), Analytical Mechanics Associates (Matthew Schubert), ASRC Research & Technology Solutions (Madhavi Latha Balijepalle, Richard Jacoby, Kenji Kato, George Lawton, Srinivas Polisetty, Cesar Ramirez, Joseph Silva, Raymond Torres, Priya Venkatesan), Bay Area Environmental Research Institute (Sreeja Nag), Deltha-Critique (Bonnie Andro-Avila), Millennium Engineering & Integration Co. (Patrick McGuirk), NIA (Nicholas Rymer, Thomas Vranas), San Jose State University Foundation Inc. (Nancy Bienert, Abhay Borade, Lauren Claudatos, Tamsyn Edwards, Cynthia Gabets, Conrad Gabriel, Albert Globus, Ashley Gomez, Vimmy Gujral, Lynne Martin, Christoph Mohlenbrink, Faisal Omar), Stinger Ghaffarian Technologies (SGT), Inc. (Vijayakumar Baskaran, Alfredo Bencomo, Ewen Denney, Minh Do, Sebastian Hening, Abraham Ishihara, Hemil Modi, Brandon Owens, Ganeshmadhav Pai, Nija Shi, David Smith, Irene Smith, Leo Wang, Helen Yamamoto), Universities Space Research Association (Charlene Cayabyab, Robert Remple), and Wyle Labs (Angela Boyle, Christine Clark, Charles Drew, Nicola Hunt).

+ Back to Top
FirstGov - Your First Click to the US Government
+ Freedom of Information Act
+ Budgets, Strategic Plans and Accountability Reports
+ The President's Management Agenda
+ NASA Privacy Statement, Disclaimer,
and Accessibility Certification

+ Inspector General Hotline
+ Equal Employment Opportunity Data Posted Pursuant
to the No Fear Act

+ Information-Dissemination Priorities and Inventories
+ NASA Privacy Statement
NASA - National Aeronautics and Space Administration
NASA Official:
Last Updated: December 15, 2017

+ Contact Us
+ About This Site

+ Download Acrobat Reader